Deputy Premier appoints GasFields Commissioners

Deputy Premier, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning
The Honourable Jeff Seeney

Deputy Premier appoints GasFields Commissioners

Cabinet has approved the appointment of six new GasFields Commissioners to help restore the State’s confidence in the Coal Seam Gas (CSG) industry.

Deputy Premier, Minister for State Development, Infrastructure and Planning Jeff Seeney said the new GasFields Commissioners came from a range of fields and would bring their own individual expertise to the role.

“The GasFields Commissioners take on the important role of working with Commission Chairman John Cotter in managing the co existence between rural landholders, regional communities and the CSG industry,” Mr Seeney said.

“We said we would appoint a chairman in the 100 Day Action Plan, we selected John Cotter for this important role and now we’ve chosen Commissioners from diverse backgrounds to help continue the Queensland Government’s ongoing commitment to regional communities,” he said.

Mr Seeney said the new GasFields Commissioners were:

• Mr Don Stiller – a land holder and f ormer Mayor of Taroom
• Mr Ian Hayllor – a cotton farmer and irrigator who has a long involvement in managing co-existence through his role as Chair of the Basin Sustainability Alliance
• Councillor Ray Brown – Mayor of Western Downs Regional Council
• Mr Rick Wilkinson – Chief Operating Officer of the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
• Professor Steven Raine – a leading academic and soil scientist from the University of Southern Queensland
• Mr Shane Charles – Chief Executive Officer of Toowoomba and Surat Basin Enterprise, with more than 20 years experience as a lawyer

Mr Seeney said Chairman Cotter would bring the group together in July to review the 55 public submissions and provide feedback on how the Gasfields Commission should operate.

“This input from the GasFields Commission will shape the legislation which will be introduced in Parliament later this year,” he said.

Mr Seeney said more than 80 expressions of interest were received for the role as a GasFields Commissioner.

“The LNP Energy and Resources Strategy stated the GasFields Commission would include community leaders where the CSG industry operates, a landholder representative and a resources industry representative and we have kept this promise.”

State News

Longest ED wait times revealed

More shocking health statistics have revealed the excruciating wait times patients are forced to endure in emergency departments across the State, as the Palaszczuk Labor Government refuses to accept the Queensland Health Crisis is real.

Read More »